Karnataka Minister J C Madhuswamy Announced Mumbai-Karnataka Region As 'Kittur Karnataka'

Karnataka Minister J C Madhuswamy Announced Mumbai-Karnataka Region As 'Kittur Karnataka'

The Karnataka government chose to rename the Mumbai-Karnataka region involving seven districts as 'Kittur Karnataka'. The declaration comes seven days after Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai said that the Mumbai-Karnataka district will be renamed as there is no good reason for holding the old name when border clashes regularly arise.

  Making the declaration, Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister J C Madhuswamy said, "The Cabinet has chosen to rechristen the Mumbai-Karnataka area comprising of Uttara Kannada, Belagavi, Dharwad, Vijayapura, Bagalkote, Gadag and Haveri areas as Kittur Karnataka." "It was chosen to rechristen as we would have rather not allude to the district as Bombay-Karnataka or Mumbai-Karnataka," J C Madhuswamy said.

Clarifying the explanation for naming the bunch of areas in North Karnataka as Kittur-Karnataka locale, CM Basavaraj Bommai had said, "After the unification of Karnataka, our boundary debates began and it has been settled yet we hear the fights occurring. Is there any point in any case to call it Mumbai-Karnataka district when such countless things are going on? Why in calling it Mumbai-Karnataka?"

He contended that the progressions in the area ought to have occurred in 1956 when the State Reorganization Act happened. The district was under the former Bomber administration before Independence and the pro-kannada associations' interest for renaming the locale has been a long-standing one.

The name "Kittur" is after a historical taluk in Belagavi area that was governed by Rani Chennamma (17781829), who had battled against the British before Jhansi Rani Laxmibai did. Already, the B S Yediyurappa government in 2019 had renamed Hyderabad-Karnataka locale that was earlier administered by Nizams of Hyderabad as "Kalyana-Karnataka".

Comments (0)

Leave a comment

Coming Soon...!